23rd September 2016

MeisterEckhart

The poor one said: You wish me a good day. I have never had a bad day. For if I am hungry I praise God; if it freezes, hails, snows, rains, if the weather is fair or foul, still I praise God; am I wretched and despised, I praise God, and so I have never had an evil day. You wished that God would send me luck. But I never had ill luck, for I know how to live with God, and I know that what God does is best; and what God gives me or ordains for me, be it good or ill, I take it cheerfully from God as the best that can be, and so I never had ill luck. You wished that God would make me happy. I was never unhappy, for my only desire is to live in God’s will, and I have so entirely yielded my will to God’s that what God wills, I will.

~~Meister Eckhart

Leave a Reply

